Can I help you pump gas?

image

The other day I was at a gas station, pumping gas and checking my cars fluids.

(Now my disclaimer:  I’m a car guy. I’ve been working on cars since I was a kid. When I hear “get me a case” I think 10/40 oil and not beer lol.)

When I heared a small little voice, “excuse me sir, can u help me. I’m trying to pump gas and don’t know how”

I said “sure you just pull your gas lever on your dash, open your gas door and then pump”

She looked at me and asked ” where is the lever”…huh?…oh shit! She was serious.

At first I admit I was surprised. How do you not know how to pump gas…wtf?

But she looked lost, like a puppy almost.

But she reminded me of my own daughter when she’s trying to learn something new and doesn’t want to feel retarded.

I said to myself, I can pump her gas or teach her….teach her.

So I showed her how. And I refrained from any comments that would make her feel stupid. I told myself, what if she didn’t have anyone to show her. We all have to start somewhere.

When I got home I told my daughter put some shoes on and we are going to learn how to change the car oil. She thinks I’m crazy. Lol.

P.s. How was your day?

Leave a Reply

