Square Pies

Chalk one up in the win column.

Today I was working on math homework with my daughter, not her favorite subject by any means.

But I was finally able to get her to understand how to calculate the area of a circle.

I started off by explaining how when I was a kid, grandma would make square pies. So that’s why I always thought pies were supposed to be squared, not circles.

She asked “but why did grandma do that”

I told her I don’t know why. Grandma always said pie r squared (A = πr2)

She got it. Then whizzed thru her homework. Lol.

How was your day?

image

Leave a Reply

